About Us

In 1993 fraud investigators from within London Local Authorities decided to form their own cross London group called the London Boroughs Fraud Investigators Group (LBFIG). All 33 London Boroughs have active anti-fraud teams and all are represented at LBFIG. Other public sector bodies such as housing associations can also affiliate provided they are not-for-profit.

The purpose of LBFIG is to disseminate best practice, discuss cross boundary fraud and generally represent the interests of local authority fraud investigators in London. Selling, or self-promotion, via our website is not permitted.   

Membership of LBFIG is via a subscription from each local authority or affiliate member. This gives individual membership to any officer of that Local Authority who is engaged in the investigation of fraud.   

There are in excess of 400 officers in London Authorities dedicated to reducing losses to the public purse. These officers cover many different areas of Local Authority work including benefits, housing, trading standards, environmental health, parking and internal audit.

Following the creation of LBFIG similar groups across the country were formed to create a national organisation called LAIOG UK (Local Authority Investigation Officers Group).

LBFIG is managed by an Executive Committee elected at its AGM. Currently, the Executive Committee comprises Mark O'Halloran (Chair)(Tri-Borough), Jamie Branch (Clarion Housing), Stephanie Toghill (Camden), Declan Khan (Barnet), Kevin Holland (Wandsworth, SWLFP), Andy Hyatt (Tri-Borough), Chris Keesing (City of London), Ben Marshall (Lambeth), Tony Qayum (Tower Hamlets), Selina Sterling (Hackney), Darren Davies (Harrow), Kevin Campbell-Scott (Southwark), Kevin Key (Barking & Dagenham), Patrick Sanders-Wright (Hackney)